Organization Background

Mufti Section was established on 1 Julai 1959 and been under placed Penang Islamic Religious Department. The Malaysian Administrative Modernization and Management Planning Unit (MAMPU)  with several other agencies have submitted recommendations about Fatwa Department through the study of restructuring the State Islamic Council Department  in 1984. As a conclusion of that the proposal Mufti Department or Fatwa matter must be separate from the Islamic Religious Department and given the appropriate role. So on 1 January 1997, the Penang State Mufti Office was  established and now known as Penang State Mufti Department.

From 7 June 2014 onwards, the department is headed by Y.BHG. S.S. Dato' Dr. Wan Salim bin Wan Mohd. Noor. Listed are the mufti who once headed the department:

List of Penang State Mufti

Sejarah SenaraiMufti